Submitting an Application

Project Evaluation Steps

Step 1: Obtain information

Contact the Foundation before investing time and energy in preparing an application. We can offer you some practical tips and guidelines to help you improve the quality of your project presentation. Do not hesitate to e-mail or call us.

We recommend that you do a quick auto-evaluation of your project by filling out subsection 2 and table 6.2 in section 6 of the Grant Application Form. This will give you a good idea of your project’s compatibility with the Foundation’s objectives and criteria.

You must carefully read all the terms and conditions for our grants, especially the description of the types of projects and activities that are not eligible for funding, and the grant agreement that you will be required to sign if your project is accepted.

Step 2: Submission

The Foundation must receive, no later than February 1 or September 15 of each year:

  • an electronic copy of the Grant Application Form
    sent by e-mail to fondation-environnement@hydro.qc.ca, AND
  • the following documents sent by regular mail (the postmark will serve as proof):
    • two signed paper copies of the Grant Application Form
    • two paper copies of the project presentation portfolio, which consists of all additional documents required (see section 8 of the Grant Application Form)
    • an electronic copy of the form and the additional documents on a CD or DVD.

Please refer to the Applicant’s Guide and to section 8 of the form to make sure your grant application is complete and that you have included all the additional documents required (project presentation portfolio). Do not forget to sign the paper copies.

Incomplete requests or requests received either only by e-mail or only by regular mail will not be considered.

Step 3: Acceptability

Your application will be briefly analyzed to determine its eligibility according to the following criteria:

  • Compatibility with the Foundation’s mission, objectives and principles
  • Completeness of the information required
  • Completeness of the list of legal or administrative approvals and agreements needed to implement your project

Organizations whose applications are not deemed eligible will be notified in writing with the reasons for the application’s rejection.

Step 4: Project evaluation

If your application is deemed eligible, the Foundation will analyze it on the basis of the following four evaluation criteria: relevance of the project submitted, design quality, implementation guarantees and expected benefits.

A dozen Québec experts who work in relevant areas of expertise for each project analysis (plant and animal species, land use, urban planning, awareness, education, restoration of natural environments, etc.) assist the Foundation with this task. These experts advise the Foundation on the relevance, feasibility and sustainability of projects.

The Foundation also consults Hydro-Québec’s regional branches regarding the level of community support for the organization and the project, as well as the project’s compatibility with local land use and socioeconomic development plans (including compatibility with Hydro-Québec facilities and property, if applicable).

Step 5: Selection

Projects that have been analyzed are presented to the Foundation’s Board of Directors for approval. The Board members examine them individually on their merits, taking the principle of equity into consideration in making their selection. If several projects that meet all the evaluation criteria are similar or come from the same region, the Board may decide to reject certain projects for the year in question.

This condition aside, the projects accepted are generally those that are most compatible with the mission, objectives and principles of the Foundation, until the funds allocated each year by Hydro-Québec are exhausted.

After the Board meetings, which take place within eight weeks of the closing dates, you will be notified in writing of the Foundation’s decision regarding your project. A project rejected by the Board may be resubmitted before the next closing date. Feel free to contact us if you would like further explanation of the reasons your project was rejected, particularly if you plan to submit a new application.

Step 6: Agreement and implementation
  • Agreement

    After the Board of Directors has accepted the project, the project’s proponents and the Fondation Hydro-Québec pour l’environnement sign a grant agreement that establishes the conditions of their participation and, more specifically, provides for their respective responsibilities, subcontracting, insurance, payment of the grant, communications, and the conditions of implementation. There are four different grant agreements depending on the type of project and the status of the proponent (NPO or municipality, owner or not of target sites). Terms differ depending on the agreement. This is why It is very important to identify the type of agreement that applies to your project.

    This agreement becomes the contract binding the two parties and defines the terms and conditions under which the organization will carry out the project. Any organization that submits an application to the Foundation must first study the standard contract that it will have to sign if the project is accepted. The acceptance in principal of a presented project by the Foundation’s Board of Directors does not oblige the Foundation to sign a grant agreement with the organization should the latter not accept the terms and conditions within a reasonable period of time after being notified of the project’s approval.

  • Implementation

    The project must be carried out in accordance with the agreement signed by the parties. The organization may entrust all or part of the project to a third party. As a signatory to the agreement, however, the organization retains sole responsibility for the project and remains the exclusive contact for the Foundation.

    Funds will be disbursed by the Foundation gradually, as the organization completes the agreed upon deliverables. A payment request form will be given to the organization when the grant agreement is signed. The organization is free to determine the frequency with which it submits requests for payment, within the limits of the schedules determined in the agreement. Each request for payment must be accompanied by proof that the deliverable for which the payment is being requested has been completed, as well as accounting vouchers for these deliverables.

    Advance funds not exceeding 45% of the total grant awarded by the Foundation can be made available to the organization should it request it. However, supporting documents describing the use of the advance must be submitted to the Foundation within 12 months of such a request.

Step 7: Verification

The final payment, equal to 10% of the grant, will be made after submission of the project report (described in the grant agreement). The report must contain a section on the project objectives achieved as measured by the environmental and social indicators stated in your grant application. It must also provide an update on key information given in your application: actual project start and end dates, total project cost, funding actually obtained, expenses incurred, and work completed. The report should also provide the inauguration date and location of the project, along with a preliminary guest list for the event.

A resolution by your organization must be attached to the report, discharging the Foundation for the grant amount awarded, subject to receipt of the final payment of 10%.

In addition, for projects that receive funding of $50,000 or more but less than $100,000, the report must include the project financial statements compiled by an independent chartered accountant, with a Notice To Reader attached. For projects that receive funding of $100,000 or more, the report must include the project financial statements with a Review Engagement Report issued by an independent chartered accountant.

Furthermore, the Foundation will visit the site to ensure project compliance.

Présentation des demandes

Cheminement de votre projet

Étape 1 : Renseignez-vous

Avant d'investir temps et énergie dans la préparation d'une demande, communiquez avec la Fondation. Nous pourrons vous donner quelques conseils pratiques et vous aider à améliorer la qualité de votre dossier. N'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel ou à nous téléphoner.

Nous vous recommandons au préalable d'auto-évaluer rapidement votre projet en remplissant la section 2 et le tableau 6.2 se trouvant à la section 6 du formulaire de demande de financement. Vous aurez ainsi un bon indicateur de la concordance de votre projet avec les objectifs et les critères de la Fondation.

Lisez attentivement toutes les conditions associées à nos financements, en particulier la description des types de projets et d’activités non admissibles et la convention de financement que vous devrez signer si votre projet est accepté.

Étape 2 : Dépôt

Vous devez transmettre à la Fondation au plus tard le 1er février ou le 15 septembre de chaque année :

  • par courriel : une copie électronique du formulaire de demande de financement à fondation-environnement@hydro.qc.ca, ET
  • par la poste (le cachet de la poste faisant foi de la date d'envoi) :
    • deux copies papier signées du formulaire de demande de financement ;
    • deux copies papier du dossier de candidature, constitué des pièces complémentaires requises (cf. section 8 du formulaire de demande de financement) ; et
    • une copie électronique du formulaire et des pièces complémentaires sur un CD-ROM ou un DVD-ROM

Reportez-vous au Guide du demandeur et à la section 8 du formulaire pour vous assurer que votre demande de financement est complète et que vous avez joint toutes les pièces complémentaires exigées (dossier de candidature). N'oubliez pas de signer les copies papier.

Aucune demande incomplète ou reçue uniquement par la poste ou uniquement par courriel ne sera prise en considération.

Étape 3 : Recevabilité

Votre demande fera l'objet d'une analyse sommaire qui permettra d'en déterminer la recevabilité en fonction des aspects suivants :

  • le respect de la mission, des objectifs et des principes de la Fondation ;
  • l'exhaustivité de l'information exigée ;
  • l'exhaustivité de la liste des autorisations juridiques ou administratives et des ententes nécessaires à la réalisation de votre projet.

Tout organisme dont la demande n'est pas jugée recevable en est avisé par écrit, raisons à l'appui.

Étape 4 : Évaluation des projets

Si votre demande est jugée recevable, la Fondation procèdera à une analyse de sélection fondée sur les quatre critères d'évaluation suivants : pertinence du projet soumis, qualité de la conception, garantie de réalisation et retombées escomptées.

Une douzaine de Québécois et œuvrant dans des domaines d'expertise pertinents à l'analyse de chaque projet (espèces fauniques, espèces floristiques, aménagement du territoire, urbanisme, sensibilisation, pédagogie, restauration de milieux naturels, etc.) assistent la Fondation dans cette tâche. Ces experts ont pour mandat de conseiller la Fondation sur la pertinence, la faisabilité et la pérennité des projets.

La Fondation consulte également les directions régionales d'Hydro-Québec quant à la qualité de l'appui de l'organisme et du projet par la collectivité et à la compatibilité du projet avec les plans d'aménagement et de développement socio-économique du territoire (y compris, le cas échéant, le respect de l'intégrité des installations et des propriétés d'Hydro-Québec).

Étape 5 : Sélection

Les projets analysés sont présentés au Conseil d'administration de la Fondation, qui les examine, un à un et au mérite, en prenant également en considération un principe d'équité pour procéder à la sélection. Si plusieurs projets répondant aux critères d'évaluation sont similaires ou proviennent d'une même région, le Conseil peut décider d'en refuser certains pour l'année visée.

Sauf cette réserve, les projets acceptés sont généralement ceux qui correspondent le mieux à la mission, aux objectifs et aux principes de la Fondation, et ce, jusqu'à épuisement des fonds qu’Hydro-Québec alloue chaque année à la Fondation.

Après chacune des réunions du Conseil d'administration, qui se tiennent environ deux mois après la date de tombée, vous serez avisé par écrit de la décision de la Fondation concernant votre projet. Un projet refusé par le Conseil peut être soumis de nouveau, dès la date de tombée suivante. N'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous si vous souhaitez mieux comprendre les raisons ayant motivé un refus, notamment si vous envisagez de présenter une nouvelle demande à la Fondation.

Étape 6 : Entente et réalisation
  • Entente

    Après l'acceptation du projet par le Conseil d'administration de la Fondation, la signature par les parties d'une convention de financement officialise l'entente conclue entre la Fondation Hydro-Québec pour l'environnement et le promoteur du projet. Cette convention fixe les conditions de participation des parties et, plus particulièrement, les responsabilités respectives, la sous-traitance, les assurances, le versement du financement accordé, les activités de communication ainsi que les modalités de réalisation. Il existe quatre types de conventions de financement suivant la nature du projet et le statut de son promoteur (OSBL ou municipalité, propriétaire ou non-propriétaire du ou des sites visés). Les conditions variant d'une convention à l'autre, il est très important d'identifier le type de convention qui s'applique à votre projet.

    Cette convention tient ainsi lieu de contrat liant les deux parties et définit les modalités selon lesquelles l'organisme s'engage à réaliser le projet. Tout organisme qui présente une demande à la Fondation doit donc prendre connaissance, au préalable, du contrat type qu'il aura à signer si son projet est accepté. L'acceptation de principe, par le Conseil d'administration de la Fondation, du projet présenté par l'organisme n'oblige pas la Fondation à signer une convention de financement avec cet organisme, si ce dernier n'en accepte pas les modalités dans des délais raisonnables après avoir été informé de l'avis favorable du Conseil.

  • Réalisation

    Le projet doit être réalisé conformément aux dispositions de la convention signée entre les parties. L'organisme peut en confier la réalisation, en tout ou en partie, à un tiers. Toutefois, en tant que signataire de la convention, il demeure le seul responsable du projet et, par conséquent, l'unique interlocuteur de la Fondation.

    La Fondation verse le financement à mesure que l'organisme termine les livrables qu'il s'est engagé à livrer en contrepartie du crédit de réalisation consenti. Un formulaire de demande de versement est remis à l'organisme lors de la signature de la convention de financement. L'organisme détermine lui-même la fréquence à laquelle il souhaite présenter ses demandes de versement, dans la limite des échéances stipulées dans la convention. Chaque demande de versement doit être accompagnée des preuves de la réalisation complète des livrables pour lesquels le versement est demandé et des pièces comptables justificatives afférentes à ces livrables.

    Au besoin, une avance n'excédant pas 45 % du montant total du crédit de réalisation consenti par la Fondation peut être mise à la disposition de l'organisme s'il en fait la demande, mais les pièces justificatives de l'utilisation faite de cette avance doivent impérativement être transmises à la Fondation dans les 12 mois qui suivent l'envoi de la demande d'avance.

Étape 7 : Vérification

Le dernier versement, équivalant à 10 % du crédit de réalisation accordé, vous sera remis après présentation de votre rapport de réalisation (décrit dans la convention). Ce rapport de réalisation devra notamment comprendre une section sur l'atteinte des objectifs de votre projet en relation avec les indicateurs environnementaux et sociaux énoncés dans votre demande de financement. Il devra aussi constituer une mise à jour des principaux éléments prévus dans votre demande, en particulier, les dates de début et de fin réelles du projet, le coût total de réalisation, les diverses contributions financières réellement obtenues, les dépenses engagées ainsi que les travaux et les activités effectivement réalisés. Le rapport devra aussi prévoir la date et le lieu de l'inauguration du projet réalisé, ainsi que la liste préliminaire des participants à l'événement.

Il faudra adjoindre à ce rapport une résolution de votre organisme donnant quittance à la Fondation pour le montant du crédit de réalisation que celle-ci vous a accordé, sous réserve de la réception du dernier versement de 10 %.

Pour les projets ayant bénéficié d'un crédit de réalisation de 50 000 $ ou plus mais de moins de 100 000 $, le rapport de réalisation devra inclure les états financiers du projet, établis par un comptable professionnel agréé (CPA) externe à votre organisme, avec avis au lecteur. Pour les projets ayant bénéficié d'un crédit de réalisation de 100 000 $ ou plus, le rapport de réalisation devra inclure les états financiers du projet, établis par un CPA auditeur externe à votre organisme, avec mission d'examen.

Une visite des lieux sera en outre effectuée par la Fondation afin de vérifier la conformité de votre projet.