Submitting an Application

Conditions of Participation

Is your organization eligible?

Any charitable or non-profit organization registered in Canada that can show that its project is not personal or lucrative in nature but serves the interests of the communities involved is eligible for a grant from the Foundation. These conditions apply to projects presented by municipalities, regional county municipalities (MRC) and band councils (see the Grant Agreement section).

Types of eligible projects

Any project that is in line with the Foundation's mission and principles and contributes to the achievement of its objectives is eligible for grants from the Foundation.

A project (or component of a project) must be carried out in Québec to qualify for financial assistance from the Foundation.

From the time the Foundation began operation in 2001 until 2005, it accepted applications for programs that promoted projects dealing primarily with animal and plant species that are at risk, and with habitat acquisition.

Since 2006, the Foundation has put more emphasis on projects that reflect local communities' willingness to undertake the stewardship of the natural environments where they are likely to have an impact.

Projects whose main objective is not strictly environmental may be submitted to the Foundation if they have a significant and relevant environmental component and do not involve any risk for sensitive environmental elements in the area concerned. Only the environmental component will be eligible for grants from the Foundation

The Foundation does not accept the following types of projects:

  • Projects that enhance general environmental awareness (climate change, pollution, resource overharvesting, greenhouse gases, water quality, energy efficiency, etc.)
  • Fund-raising campaigns or any other type of financing or sponsorship projects
  • Projects to create or contribute to an endowment fund
  • Projects that are solely for embellishment or comfort (e.g., noise or odor barriers)
  • Project to reduce air pollution (e.g., car pooling)
  • Greening of schoolyards, alleys or community gardens, green roofs or simplification of environmentally friendly horticultural or agricultural practices
  • Waste collection, recycling or recovery
  • Projects aimed solely at recreation, tourism or the economy, with no environmental component
  • Knowledge acquisition, inventories, or feasibility or other exploratory studies
  • Experimental, scientific, university or fundamental research or R&D projects or technology demonstrations
  • Recurring activities (e.g., clean-up crew, repeated dissemination of a training or awareness program)
  • Projects consisting of activities that are already in progress or have been completed
  • Creating or updating data banks
  • Projects resulting from legal obligations (e.g., environmental impact assessment, decontamination of industrial or commercial sites, dam rehabilitation)
  • Projects that interfere with the primary function of Hydro-Québec's facilities

The Foundation generally does not accept the following types of projects:
(Updated: August 2016)

  • Direct action to increase wildlife or plant populations for harvesting (e.g., fish stocking) or reintroduce extirpated species. However, if the projects have habitat enhancement, awareness-raising or education components, these components are eligible.
  • Museum and interpretation centre projects that are not related to the natural environment or are aimed solely at acquiring, building or developing infrastructure. The Foundation is specifically interested in themes that encourage behavioral change regarding a local environmental issue
  • Organization of or attendance at workshops, seminars, conferences, etc.
  • Voluntary conservation projects (private stewardship)
  • Conservation through land acquisition, except projects that will directly or indirectly protect a habitat that is rich in biodiversity and that are part of a broader conservation and development plan which clearly establishes the various functions and uses for the land acquired(1)
  • The uniqueness and sustainability of the site’s conservational role must be clearly demonstrated. The application must include at least one appraisal of the current value of the property, performed by an accredited appraiser (the Foundation reserves the right to request a second appraisal), a precise map of the cadastral lots in question, and, ideally an accepted offer to purchase.

    The Foundation grants a maximum of $100,000 towards all eligible land acquisition costs. The project must also include an "education" or "development" component representing at least 10% of the Foundation’s grant for land acquisition costs. Priority will be given to projects with an educational or public awareness component that explains the conservation issues associated with the acquisition. In principle, the site must also provide for public contact with the environment, according to conditions that ensure its ecological integrity is respected.

The Foundation does not fund the following expenses:

  • Annual meetings, rent, maintenance or any other general administration or operating expenses that are not directly related to the project (Internet access, telephone, accounting costs, etc.)
  • Activities preliminary to the realization of the various steps in the project itself (feasibility study, methodology, fund-raising, public consultation tour, legal fees, property appraisal, etc.)
  • Activities that take place on federal property, except for education or awareness activities and those in aboriginal communities.
  • Communication, promotion or marketing activities not specifically related to the project (lobbying, building organization Web sites, etc.)
  • Costs associated with legal obligations (property taxes, property transfer duties, etc.)
  • Participation in workshops, seminars or conferences

(1) Acquisition projects on public domain (on government, regional county municipality or municipal property) are not eligible.

Project duration

The project schedule must be realistic and suitable for the project objectives and scale. In general, since the Foundation operates on a one-year cycle, the projects it funds usually last twelve months.

The project may, however, be part of a broader plan, since many organizations take a long-term perspective. In this instance, and if the organization so requests, a grant may be awarded for a maximum of two consecutive years, on the condition that it applies to successive phases of the same project.

To provide the Foundation with an overview, the proponent must clearly specify the phases of the project to which the Foundation would contribute and briefly describe previous phases completed and future phases planned. An interim report must be submitted to the Foundation at the end of the first year and the grant for the second year would be conditional on achieving the objectives of the phases completed in Year 1.

The Foundation will not commit to granting funds for all phases of such a project; however, the sustainability of phases funded by the Foundation must be clearly demonstrated, even if the Foundation does not award a grant for subsequent phases at a later date.

Grant conditions
The appropriateness of the amount requested will be evaluated according to the project’s objectives and planned activities. There is no set minimum or maximum, subject to the following conditions:
  • A detailed budget for the project must be submitted. The budget should include, for each of the activities planned, a breakdown of costs between the following three categories: human resources (internal), purchase of goods and material, and professional services (external).
  • Sources of funding must be specified with the amounts provided by every partner. If any partners provide contributions in kind (loans of personnel, equipment, premises, etc.), they should be listed along with a monetary value. The elements of the project that each partner (including your organization and the Foundation) will be contributing to must also be listed.
  • For cash contributions, the financing for the project must comply with the following conditions:
Grant requested from FHQE Other financial contributions required Professional accountant services required
< $50,000 None(1) None
≥ $50,000
< $100,000
At least 25% of the total funding (cash)(2)(3) Financial statements of the project accompanied by a Notice To Reader(4)
≥ $100,000 At least 50% of the total funding (cash)(2)(3) Financial statements of the project accompanied by a Review Engagement Report(4)

(1) Any type of external funding will be favorably viewed in the project evaluation.

(2) No funds will be paid unless letters of confirmation from the other funding sources are supplied, specifying the cash amounts or fair market value of the contributions. For example:

  • If you apply for $60,000 from the Foundation, you must obtain other funding of at least $20,000 and provide confirmation.
  • If you apply for $120,000 from the Foundation, you must obtain other funding of at least $120,000 and provide confirmation.

(3) If you are a municipality, a regional county municipality, a band council or an inter-municipal organization, financing must include at least one other sponsor (excluding your organization) for grant requests of $50,000 or more.

(4) The financial statements of the project must be compiled (for grants < $100,000) or reviewed (for grants ≥ $100,000) by an independent chartered accountant and incorporated into the final project report. The related cost must be included in the projected expenses budget submitted with the grant application.


These ceilings apply to the entire project if it is solely environmental. For any other kind of project, the ceilings only apply to the environmental component.

Is one of your volunteers or board member a Hydro-Québec employee?

If one of your volunteers or board members is a Hydro-Québec employee, invite him or her to learn more about the "Fier de Nature" program, which is designed to recognize and promote the socio-environmental involvement of Hydro-Québec employees. Based on the program's eligibility criteria, your organization could receive up to $5000 in support of an initiative presented by the employee.

Présentation des demandes

Conditions de participation

Votre organisme est-il admissible ?

Tout organisme caritatif ou sans but lucratif, dûment enregistré au Canada et pouvant démontrer que le projet qu'il présente ne sert pas des fins personnelles ni lucratives, mais l'intérêt de la communauté concernée, est admissible aux subventions de la Fondation. Ces conditions s'appliquent à des projets présentés par des municipalités, des municipalités régionales de comté (MRC) ou des conseils de bande (voir à ce sujet la rubrique convention de financement).

Types de projets admissibles

Tout projet qui s'inscrit dans la mission de la Fondation, qui contribue à l'atteinte de ses objectifs et qui respecte ses principes, est admissible aux subventions de la Fondation.

Pour se qualifier, le projet ou le volet d'un projet faisant l'objet d'une demande de financement auprès de la Fondation doit être réalisé au Québec.

Depuis le début de ses activités en 2001 jusqu'en 2005, la Fondation a accueilli les demandes dans le cadre de programmes qui ont eu pour effet de favoriser les interventions visant prioritairement les espèces fauniques ou floristiques à statut précaire, ainsi que l'acquisition d'habitats.

Depuis 2006, la Fondation met davantage l'accent sur les projets qui traduisent la volonté des collectivités locales de gérer de façon responsable et durable les milieux naturels sur lesquels elles sont susceptibles de laisser leur empreinte.

Des projets dont l'objectif principal n'est pas strictement environnemental peuvent être soumis à la Fondation s'ils comportent un volet environnemental important et pertinent, et s'ils ne présentent pas de risques pour les éléments sensibles du territoire concerné. Dans ce cas, l'organisme peut demander un financement à la Fondation uniquement pour la réalisation de ce volet.

La Fondation n'accepte pas les projets :

  • de sensibilisation à des problématiques environnementales d'ordre général (changements climatiques, pollution, surexploitation des ressources, gaz à effets de serre, qualité de l'eau, efficacité énergétique, etc.)
  • de collecte de fonds ou toute autre campagne de financement ou de commandite
  • de création d'un fonds de dotation ou de contribution à un tel fonds
  • visant strictement l'embellissement ou le confort (barrières antibruit ou anti-odeurs)
  • visant à limiter la pollution atmosphérique (ex. : covoiturage)
  • de verdissement de cours d'école, de ruelles, de jardins communautaires et de toits verts ou de vulgarisation de pratiques horticoles ou agricoles écologiques
  • de collecte, de recyclage ou de valorisation de matières résiduelles
  • de nature strictement récréotouristique et économique, sans volet environnemental
  • d'acquisition de connaissances, d'inventaire, d'étude de faisabilité ou d'autres études exploratoires
  • expérimentaux, de recherche scientifique, universitaire ou fondamentale, de R-D ou de démonstration de technologies
  • de nature récurrente (ex. : corvée de nettoyage, diffusion répétée de programme de formation ou d'animation)
  • consistant en des activités en cours de réalisation ou ayant eu lieu
  • de création ou de mise à jour de banques de données
  • découlant d'obligations prescrites par la loi (ex. : étude d'impact sur l'environnement, décontamination de terrains industriels ou commerciaux, réfection de barrages)
  • visant à intervenir sur la fonction première des équipements d'Hydro-Québec

La Fondation n'accepte généralement pas les projets
(Mise-à-jour : août 2016) :

  • d'intervention directe visant à accroître des populations fauniques ou floristiques exploitées (ex. : ensemencement) ou la réintroduction de populations disparues ; cependant, si de tels projets comportent des volets afférents visant l'amélioration de l'habitat et des activités de sensibilisation et d'éducation, ces volets sont recevables
  • d'activités muséales et d'interprétation qui ne sont pas liées aux ressources naturelles du milieu récepteur ou qui ne visent que l'acquisition, la construction ou l'aménagement d'infrastructures ; en ce qui concerne les thématiques, la Fondation s'intéresse plus particulièrement aux thèmes qui encouragent les changements de comportement du public ou de la population en général à l'égard d'une problématique environnementale locale
  • d'organisation d'ateliers, de conférences, de colloques, etc. ou de participation à ces événements
  • de conservation volontaire (intendance privée)
  • de conservation par acquisition de terrains, sauf ceux qui visent à protéger directement ou indirectement un habitat particulièrement riche en biodiversité et qui s'intègrent dans un plan de conservation et de mise en valeur établissant clairement les différentes fonctions et utilisations prévues du territoire touché par l'acquisition(1)

Le caractère d'unicité et la pérennité de la vocation de conservation du site doivent être clairement démontrés ; la demande doit être accompagnée d'au moins une évaluation de la valeur actuelle de la propriété visée, effectuée par un évaluateur agréé (la Fondation se réserve le droit de demander une deuxième évaluation) ; d'une cartographie précise des lots cadastraux visés ; et, idéalement, d'une promesse d'achat acceptée.

La Fondation accorde une contribution maximale de 100 000 $ attribuable à l'ensemble des frais admissibles associés à l'acquisition de la propriété. De plus, le projet doit inclure obligatoirement un volet « éducation » ou « mise en valeur » représentant au minimum 10 % de la contribution de la Fondation associée aux frais d'acquisition. Une priorité est accordée aux projets comportant un volet éducatif ou de sensibilisation du grand public visant à exposer les enjeux de conservation associés à cette acquisition. Le site doit aussi, en principe, permettre un contact du public avec cet environnement, mais selon des modalités qui en respectent l'intégrité écologique.

La Fondation ne finance pas :

  • les activités annuelles, le loyer, l’entretien ou toute autre dépense de fonctionnement ou d'administration générale qui n'est pas directement liée au projet (accès Internet, téléphone, frais de comptabilité, etc.) ;
  • les activités préalables à la réalisation des actions proposées dans le cadre du projet (étude de faisabilité, élaboration de la méthodologie, démarches de financement, tournée de consultation publique, frais juridiques, évaluation foncière, etc.) ;
  • les activités réalisées sur des propriétés fédérales, à l'exception des activités se déroulant dans une communauté autochtone ainsi que des activités de sensibilisation et d'éducation.
  • les activités de communication, de promotion ou de marketing non spécifiquement liées au projet (ex. : lobbying, création de sites Web organisationnels, etc.) ;
  • les coûts inhérents à des obligations prescrites par la loi (ex. : taxes foncières, droit de mutation, etc.) ;
  • la participation à des ateliers, à des colloques ou à des conférences.

(1) Les projets d'acquisition de terrains faisant partie du domaine public (propriétés des gouvernements, des MRC ou des municipalités) ne sont pas admissibles.

Durée d'un projet

L'échéancier du projet doit être réaliste, c'est-à-dire adapté à son envergure et à ses objectifs. Comme la Fondation exerce ses activités selon un cycle annuel, la mise en œuvre des projets qu'elle finance s'étend habituellement sur une durée d'environ douze mois.

Le projet peut toutefois s'inscrire dans une planification plus globale, puisque de nombreux organismes travaillent dans une perspective à long terme. Dans ce cas et si l'organisme en formule la demande, un financement pour une période maximale de deux ans d'affilée pourrait être accordé, à condition qu'il s'agisse de phases consécutives d'un même projet.

Pour permettre à la Fondation d'avoir une vision d'ensemble, il faut alors préciser clairement les phases du projet auxquelles elle sera appelée à contribuer, mais aussi les situer en décrivant brièvement les phases antérieures déjà réalisées et les phases ultérieures envisagées. Un rapport de réalisation intermédiaire devra être remis à la Fondation à la fin de la 1re année, et les crédits de la 2e année seront conditionnels à l'atteinte des objectifs des phases menées à terme la 1re année.

La Fondation ne s'engagera aucunement à reconduire son aide financière pour toutes les phases d'un tel projet, mais la pérennité des phases financées par la Fondation devra être clairement démontrée, même si elle ne contribue pas ultérieurement au financement des phases menées à terme.

Conditions de soutien financier
La pertinence des montants demandés est évaluée en fonction des objectifs visés et des activités prévues. Il n'y a pas de limite fixe minimale ou maximale, sous réserve des conditions suivantes :
  • Vous devez fournir un budget détaillé du projet contenant, pour chacune des activités prévues, une ventilation des coûts entre les trois postes budgétaires suivants : ressources humaines (internes) ; achat de biens et de matériel ; et services professionnels (externes).
  • Vous devez énumérer les sources de financement prévues et les montants demandés à chacun de vos partenaires. Si certains de vos partenaires fournissent des prestations en nature (prêt de personnel, d'équipements, de locaux, etc.), il est souhaitable de les mentionner et de leur attribuer une valeur monétaire. Pour chaque partenaire du projet (incluant votre organisme et la Fondation), précisez à quels éléments du projet il contribuera.
  • Pour les contributions en espèces, le montage financier du projet doit respecter les conditions suivantes :
  • Montant du financement demandé à la FHQE Autres contributions financières exigées Vérification externe des états financiers du projet
    < 50 000 $ Aucune(1) Non exigée
    ≥ 50 000 $ < 100 000 $ Au moins 25 % du total du financement (en espèces)(2)(3) États financiers du projet avec avis au lecteur(4)
    ≥ 100 000 $ Au moins 50 % du total du financement (en espèces)(2)(3) États financiers du projet avec mission d'examen(4)

    (1) Tout type de financement externe sera pris en compte favorablement dans l'évaluation du projet.

    (2) Aucun montant ne sera versé sans que soient fournies les lettres de confirmation des autres sources de financement, précisant le montant en espèces ou la juste valeur marchande des contributions. Exemples :

    • Si vous faites une demande de financement de 60 000 $ à la Fondation, vous devrez obtenir des contributions financières autres d'au moins 20 000 $ et nous fournir une confirmation.
    • Si vous faites une demande de financement de 120 000 $ à la Fondation, vous devrez obtenir des contributions financières autres d'au moins 120 000 $ et nous fournir une confirmation.

    (3) Si vous êtes une municipalité, une MRC, un conseil de bande ou une organisation intermunicipale, votre montage financier devra impérativement inclure au moins un autre bailleur de fonds (excluant votre organisation) pour les demandes de financement de 50 000 $ et plus.

    (4) Les coûts de cette vérification externe, qui sera faite par un comptable professionnel agréé (CPA) indépendant de l'organisme bénéficiaire, devront être compris dans le budget présenté. Les états financiers vérifiés feront partie intégrante du rapport final de réalisation du projet.


    Ces plafonds s'appliquent à l'ensemble d'un projet de nature environnementale. Pour les projets de toute autre nature, ils s'appliquent seulement au volet environnemental (voir la section Types de projets admissibles).

Y a-t-il un employé d'Hydro-Québec parmi vos administrateurs ou bénévoles ?

Si l'un de vos bénévoles ou des membres de votre conseil d'administration est un employé d'Hydro-Québec, demandez-lui de s'informer au sujet du programme Fier de nature. Ce programme vise à reconnaître et à favoriser l'implication socioenvironnementale du personnel de l'entreprise. Selon les critères d'admissibilité, votre organisme pourrait bénéficier d'une contribution financière allant jusqu'à 5 000 $ en appui à une initiative que l'employé d'Hydro-Québec nous présentera.