Submitting an Application

To Submit a Project

The Foundation must receive, no later than February 1 or September 15 of each year:

  • an electronic copy of the Grant Application Form
    sent by e-mail to fondation-environnement@hydro.qc.ca AND
  • the following documents sent by regular mail (the postmark will serve as proof)
    • two signed paper copies of the Grant Application Form
    • two paper copies of the project presentation portfolio, which consists of all additional documents required (see section 8 of the Grant Application Form)
    • an electronic copy of the form and the additional documents on a CD or DVD.

Please refer to the Applicant’s Guide and to section 8 of the form to make sure your grant application is complete and that you have included all the additional documents required (project presentation portfolio). Do not forget to sign the paper copies.

Incomplete requests or requests received either only by e-mail or only by regular mail will not be considered.

Grant Application Form

The form is available in Excel format (in French only). Please fill out all sections of the form on your screen, save an electronic copy and print two copies.

Make sure to read the “Read this first” ("À lire en premier", in French only) and the "Applicant’s guide" ("Guide du demandeur", in French only) sections before filling out the form. These sections will help you better understand the Foundation's expectations. You will also learn how to configure Excel in order to be able to correctly fill out the form.

Before investing your time and energy preparing a grant application, we recommend you fill out section 2 and table 6.2 in the section 6 of the Grant Application Form. This should give you a good idea of whether your project is compatible with the Foundation’s objectives and criteria.

Project Presentation Porftolio

The project presentation portfolio, which includes the mandatory and optional additional documents described in section 8 of the Grant Application Form, provides the Foundation with the detailed information it needs to assess the relevance, acceptability and feasibility of your project. The following documents must be included in the project presentation portfolio or submitted as complementary information:

Mandatory documents
  1. A detailed budget of the project based on deliverables: use our template or provide a budget which includes, for each of the activities planned, a breakdown of costs between the three following categories: human resources (internal), purchase of goods and material, and professional services (external).
  2. Patents and most recent financial statements.
  3. Letters of commitment for contribution in cash from other sponsors.
  4. Letters of commitment for contributions in kind.
  5. A description of the project team and sub-contractors, if applicable.
  6. A comprehensive list of all permits and approvals required by the federal, provincial and municipal authorities and a copy of all official documents and permits obtained.
  7. The agreement binding the owner and site manager (if they are two distinct organizations).
  8. For acquisition projects: at least one appraisal of the current value of the property, performed by an accredited appraiser (the Foundation reserves the right to request a second appraisal), a precise map of the cadastral lots in question, and, ideally an accepted offer to purchase.
  9. For projects involving land: plans, maps and photographs of the site’s location and additional information about the target site(s) such as a description of current knowledge about the environment (wildlife and vegetation), addresses of landowners and land-use designation based on the RCM’s land-use plan and special recognition of the site (as a natural reserve, wildlife refuge, etc.).
  10. A list of each item that makes up the current project presentation portfolio.
Additional complementary documents
  1. Prior agreements and general letters of support.
  2. Proposed ways to ensure project sustainability.
  3. An inventory of threatened or vulnerable species, or species likely to be so designated.
  4. Photos, studies, media coverage, press clippings, etc.
  5. Bids and specifications for the construction and development planned.
  6. Description of operating and maintenance conditions (e.g., conservation and development plan).
  7. Any other document which you consider relevant to accurately present your project.

Présentation des demandes

Comment présenter votre projet ?

Vous devez transmettre à la Fondation avant le 1er février ou le 15 septembre de chaque année :

  • par courriel : une copie électronique du formulaire de demande
    de financement à fondation-environnement@hydro.qc.ca ET
  • par la poste (le cachet de la poste faisant foi de la date d'envoi) :
    • deux copies papier signées du formulaire de demande de financement ;
    • deux copies papier du dossier de candidature, constitué des pièces complémentaires requises (cf. section 8 du formulaire de demande de financement) ; et
    • une copie électronique du formulaire et des pièces complémentaires sur un CD-ROM ou un DVD-ROM.

Reportez-vous au Guide du demandeur et à la section 8 du formulaire pour vous assurer que votre demande de financement est complète et que vous avez joint toutes les pièces complémentaires exigées (dossier de candidature). N'oubliez pas de signer les copies papier.

Aucune demande incomplète ou reçue uniquement par la poste ou uniquement par courriel ne sera prise en considération.

Un formulaire de demande de financement

Le formulaire est disponible en format Excel. Vous devez remplir toutes les sections du formulaire à l'écran, en enregistrer une version électronique et en imprimer deux copies.

Il est essentiel de lire les sections « À lire en premier » et « Guide du demandeur » avant de remplir le formulaire. Elles vous permettront de configurer le logiciel Excel de façon à pouvoir remplir le formulaire correctement et de comprendre les attentes de la Fondation.

Avant d'investir temps et énergie dans la préparation d'une demande de financement, nous vous recommandons par ailleurs de remplir la section 2 et le tableau 6.2 se trouvant à la section 6 du formulaire de demande de financement. Vous aurez ainsi un bon indicateur de la concordance de votre projet avec les objectifs et les critères de la Fondation.

Un dossier de candidature

Le dossier de candidature, constitué des pièces complémentaires obligatoires et facultatives mentionnées à la section 8 du formulaire de demande de financement, fournit à la Fondation des renseignements détaillés qui lui permettent de mieux évaluer la pertinence, l'acceptabilité et la faisabilité de votre projet. Voici les pièces complémentaires qui composent le dossier de candidature :

Pièces obligatoires
  1. Le budget détaillé du projet par livrables : utiliser notre modèle ou fournir un budget contenant, pour les actions et outils proposés, une ventilation des coûts entre les trois postes budgétaires suivants : ressources humaines (internes), achat de biens et de matériel et services professionnels (externes).
  2. Les lettres patentes et les états financiers les plus récents.
  3. Les lettres confirmant le financement des autres bailleurs de fonds.
  4. Les lettres confirmant les diverses contributions en nature.
  5. La description de l'équipe de réalisation du projet et des sous-traitants, le cas échéant.
  6. La liste exhaustive de tous les permis et autorisations exigés par les autorités fédérales, provinciales et municipales et une copie des documents officiels pour les permis et autorisations obtenus.
  7. L'entente qui lie le propriétaire et le gestionnaire du site (dans les cas où ce sont deux organismes distincts).
  8. Pour les projets d'acquisition : au moins une évaluation de la valeur actuelle de la propriété visée, effectuée par un évaluateur agréé (la Fondation se réserve le droit de demander une deuxième évaluation) ; une cartographie précise des lots cadastraux visés ; et, idéalement, une promesse d'achat acceptée.
  9. Pour les projets impliquant des interventions au terrain : les plans, cartes et photos permettant de localiser le site et des renseignements supplémentaires sur le ou les sites visés par le projet, par exemple, une description des connaissances actuelles du milieu (faune et flore), les coordonnées des propriétaires et l'affectation du territoire selon le schéma d'aménagement de la MRC, la reconnaissance particulière attribuée au site (réserve naturelle, refuge faunique, etc.).
  10. La liste de toutes les pièces constituant le présent dossier de candidature.
Autres pièces complémentaires
  1. Ententes préalables et lettres générales d'appui.
  2. Outils prévus pour assurer la pérennité du projet.
  3. Inventaire des espèces menacées, vulnérables ou susceptibles d'être ainsi désignées.
  4. Photos, études, reportages, coupures de presse, etc.
  5. Soumissions et devis des travaux et des aménagements prévus.
  6. Description des modalités d'exploitation et d'entretien (ex. plan de conservation et de mise en valeur).
  7. Tout autre document que vous jugez pertinent pour présenter fidèlement l'ensemble de votre projet.