Wind power


The Canadian Wind Energy Association (CanWEA) presented its Group Leadership Award to Hydro-Québec for its efforts in developing wind power.


The Utility Wind Integration Group (UWIG), which is headquartered in the United States and has over 150 members in North America, Europe and Asia, recognized Hydro-Québec’s contributions to simulation, dynamic modeling and analysis tools for power systems with a large share of wind power.

Battery materials


Karim Zaghib, Director – Storage and Energy Conversion at IREQ, received the Battery Division Technology Award from the Electrochemical Society for his exceptional contribution to the development of state-of-the-art, high-performance battery materials. Karim Zaghib receives Battery Division Technology Award


For a second consecutive year, Clarivate Analytics (formerly the Intellectual Property and Science arm of Thomson Reuters) named Karim Zaghib to its prestigious list ”The World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds.

Edison Award


Hydro-Québec and the British Columbia Transmission Corporation (now BC Hydro) were the joint winners of the 2010 Edison Award for LineScout, a robot developed at IREQ to inspect and repair high-voltage transmission lines. Working closely with BCTC, IREQ tested LineScout on transmission lines spanning water in the Vancouver area. The Edison Award is the electric power industry’s highest honor.

EEI Emergency Assistance Award


The Edison Electric Institute (EEI) honored Hydro-Québec with an Emergency Assistance Award in recognition of its exceptional efforts to help a number of U.S. utilities restore power in the wake of the severe thunderstorms that struck the Midwest and Mid-Atlantic regions in June, and Hurricane Sandy, which ravaged New England and New York State in October. Hydro-Québec dispatched a total of 180 crews to lend a hand to its counterparts.

Hydro-Québec receives EEI's 2012 Emergency Assistance Award



Hydro-Québec earned its eighth ENERGY STAR® award in a row, the Market Transformation Award in the Utility of the Year – Provincial category. The distinction is awarded by Natural Resources Canada in recognition of leaders in the promotion of energy efficiency.